Michael’s Harborside vs Striper’s – Neither – They both need HELP!

19 Mar

So yesterday I decided to ring in the 60+ degree weather with lunch at Striper’s Grill in Salisbury, followed by a long walk in Maudslay State Park (which I will be writing about soon) and then beers and snacks at Michael’s Harborside.

I would now like to say that both Striper’s and Michael’s food and service has taken a huge turn for the worst. They better get their acts together before the summer and FAST!

Michael’s Harborside

Boy did who ever take over F this place up. Michael’s was the spot for some greasy, clam shack-style yummy seafood but someone decided to change the concept. In the words of some famous person, “If it ain’t broke don’t try to fix it”. The menu now TRIES to be more upscale but the food is not.  I don’t mind spending money on good food but when I spend money on bad food, that’s when I get mad. My suggestion is to dust off that menu from the mid-90’s and reinstate that before May and the tourists arrive.

Striper’s Grill

The service at Striper’s was awkward and slow. Top that with a mediocre, somewhat dirty salad bar and a so-so menu (definitely made with frozen ingredients) and we have a recipe for disappointment. Striper’s COULD be a great spot for lunch and dinner. They have a great space to work with right on the water. There is no need to serve FROZEN fish when your 10 yards from the mouth of the river. If they could get in some fresh ingredients and snap the wait staff into shape, I could see this spot becoming very successful!

These dueling riverside restaurants had better do some spring cleaning because I despise writing negative blog posts and both of these spots could be amazing!

Leave a comment